top of page


Community Energy England Award

The community energy industry gathered at a vibrant ceremony in Oxford on 5 September 2015 to showcase and celebrate the communities, projects and individuals that are at the forefront of the community energy revolution. Saddleworth Community Hydro, was presented with the Community Energy Collaboration Award by Jonathan Hazeldine, Head of Marks& Spencer Energy. This recognises a ground breaking venture in terms of an association between a small community group and United Utilities who own the reservoir.

The winners were chosen from a high-quality shortlist of entrants from across the country by an independent panel of judges who have expert knowledge in sustainable energy.

“Community Energy England is pleased to be hosting these awards for the first time this year”, said Phillip Wolfe chairman of CEE, which organises the awards. “We have been delighted by the abundance of good entries. All finalists are exemplars in their field and leading the UK’s community energy drive”

CE Awards15-Saddleworth Hydro_Jonathan H
ICE Dove Stone team with award web.jpg

Institution of Civil Engineers NW branch Community Award Winner

Government minister congratulates Saddleworth community hydropower scheme on winning “Engineering Oscar”

The trophy was presented by Professor David Balmforth (President of ICE) at an awards ceremony on Friday 6th February 2015.

Full Report


Guest Blog on ICE website

ICE award.jpg

Craig Taylor (Ecowave), Phil Davis (Renewables First), Richard Rider (Renewables First), Bill Edwards ( Chairman Saddleworth Community Hydro) and Peter Gill ( United Utilities) still celebrating the next morning.

Award photo Saturday.jpg
bottom of page